How To Clean Out Your Closet FOR REAL

(2 minute read)

I have more clothes than I know what to do with. I have clothes hanging in my closet, thrown on my floor, displayed on the backs of chairs, bundled at the end of my bed… it’s a problem. It’s even more of a problem because I’ll go through my clothes intending to get rid of many of them, ask myself whether I wear each piece of clothing, realize I wear all the clothes I have, then just put them back in my closet. Same goes for purses, shoes, and jewelry.

But, I’ve been asking myself the wrong question, and I needed a new strategy. If you find yourself in a similar situation, try asking these six questions instead:

  • Would I buy this if I saw it in a store today? (if no, then TOSS)
  • Does this make me feel confident and attractive? (if no, then TOSS)
  • Have I worn this more than twice the last year? (if no, then TOSS, save for special occasion clothes like formal dresses… in that case, continue to the next question)
  • Out of these similar clothes, do I always pick one over the other? (if yes, TOSS the look-alike that’s always your second choice)
  • Does this fit? (if no, then TOSS… unless you can alter it, and are going to do so within the next week)
  • Is it damaged, and am I going to fix it? (if it’s beyond repair, or you will just never get around to fixing it, TOSS!)

Good luck! Let me know in the comments if this worked for you!

3 thoughts on “How To Clean Out Your Closet FOR REAL

Leave a Reply

