I Don’t Know What I Don’t Know

(1.3 minute read)

…but apparently everyone else does.

“Gas” and “diesel” are different. That’s a lesson I learned on the ranch earlier this week when I filled up a four-wheeler with diesel… when it runs on gas. Heck, I didn’t even know there were different fluids in the two big tanks conveniently located on the ranch property.

This was one of those many instances when, had I asked a question or two, I could have avoided a mistake. The problem is that I didn’t even know that I didn’t know something, and therefore didn’t think to ask a question. It would be the same as getting up in the morning and tying your shoes before school, going on your merry way, then later finding out that there is an official dress code knot, and ya done messed up.

I was totally embarrassed afterward, because the coworkers who helped me acted like everyone knows the difference between gas and diesel (maybe everyone does, except for me).

Has anyone else had moments like those?

5 thoughts on “I Don’t Know What I Don’t Know

  1. Well, I think I’ll call you Jo….

    This is not exactly the same but it is a factoid. I didn’t know what fuel injected meant so when I bought a car that had that condition??? I asked my then boyfriend to explain.

    He went on and on and on and on…..ad nauseam…

    FINALLY when he stopped he asked if I had any questions and I told him no; I’d gotten all of it.

    He: So what did I say and what did it mean?
    Me: It sucks instead of spits!

    You’re young, you have probably never driven a diesel vehicle, you haven’t lived on a farm before and you’re trying…Sooooooo, illegitimi non carborundum!

    ~~dru~~

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Usually it tells you on the inside of the lid if your car needs diesel or gas. Also: Did you know that you can easily find out on which side you have to fill up your car? There’s an arrow on the speed indicator on your dashboard… Just recently discovered this…

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

