We’re Not All Crazy

Social anxiety. Insomnia. OCD. Depression. ADHD.

I didn’t even know I had all these ailments until a friend enlightened me. So, I looked up symptom checklists and they looked very similar to the following:

  • Confusion
  • Sadness
  • Strong feelings
  • Social withdrawal
  • Worries
  • Defiance of authority
  • Hyperactivity
  • Anger
  • Denial of problems

It seems incomplete to me however, as they forgot to add “breathing.” Don’t get upset yet–I know that there are very real mental disorders, and there’s a lot of science to back them up, but I do think that they’re hugely over diagnosed. Having personality, feelings, and struggles, are not symptoms of disorders; they’re part of the package deal of being a living, breathing, healthy, human being.

I think there are three main things wrong with our culture that lead to this over-diagnosis:

  1. We try to numb pain instead of face it.
  2. We would rather blame our behavior on an uncontrollable disorder than a controllable behavior.
  3. We forget what our lifestyle is supposed to be like because we live in this advanced state of the 21st century.

Anyway, here are a few articles I read that are food for thought, and I’d love to hear your opinions.

ADHD and Evolution

Just shy?

America: Over-diagnosed and Over-medicated

2 thoughts on “We’re Not All Crazy

  1. I’d agree with this. I have a diagnosis of OCD. While I know it’s the right diagnosis for me, I do think many people self diagnose because it’s easier to have something to blame..or even to have something that explains all the things happening in your head.
    I tried to deny my diagnosis but that’s not possible. I don’t treat it with medication, but with behavioral therapy.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

