The Future

The Future: The place where you know exactly what you’re going to do, until you actually get there.

That’s what it usually is for me, anyway. I always have a plan. I have plans for everything. Timetables, charts, lists, calendars, spreadsheets, post-it notes (everywhere)… I’m one of those people. I plan future conversations, what I’ll eat for lunch a week from now, I sit on my bed at night and calculate out exactly how many hours of sleep I could get if I fell asleep right now (so useful, I know). Most of all, I always have a general plan for the next few years of my life, which at this point defines where I will live, where I will work and/or attend school, whether I would need to purchase a car, who I would still be close enough to make plans with in my free time, and (most importantly) whether I could bring my cat (kidding).

Recently I found out my plan could just go jump in a lake. All dozen contingent versions of it (Dozen, give or take. I’m a business major, what do you expect…). I have to start from scratch. Now, I don’t even know where I’ll be three months from now, and that’s a pretty startling thought for someone like me.

I’m surprisingly okay with this new development though. After all, the plan I had three years ago certainly didn’t end with me being where I am right now, and where I am right now isn’t so bad. The reason I’m sharing this is because I have a lot of friends who are in the same boat. We’re all floating somewhere out in the ocean of confused young-adulthood together.

But, a word of hope to my fellow castaways…

The one thing that didn’t change, even though evidently my “Plan” is, are my goals. No matter how much your plan changes, you still have to have goals. That will keep you moving forward, even if you’re not completely sure of where forward is yet. A goal is a destination, and as you know there are many different ways to reach the same destination… you’re figuring out which one is best for you, but you will get there.

Leave a Reply

